

# Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee

## **Minute of Decision**

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

# Update on Better Later Life – He Oranga Kaumātua 2019 to 2034 and Release of First Action Plan

#### Portfolio Seniors

On 11 August 2021, the Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee (SWC):

- 1 **noted** that in September 2019, SWC:
  - agreed to the release of the Better Later Life He Oranga Kaumātua 2019 2034 Strategy (the Strategy);
  - authorised the establishment of a Ministerial Steering Group to monitor progress on the Strategy;
  - agreed that the Minister for Seniors will provide two-yearly reviews to SWC beginning in 2021;

[SWC-19-MIN-0131];

- **noted** that in Budget 2021, Cabinet approved \$1.964 million over four years for the implementation of the Better Later Life Strategy for Seniors [CAB-21-MIN-0116.27];
- noted that the above funding will enable the Office for Seniors to co-ordinate the implementation of the Strategy and Action Plan, and continue to develop indicators;
- 4 **approved** the release of the *Better Later Life He Oranga Kaumātua 2019-2034 Action Plan 2021 2024* (the Action Plan), attached under SWC-21-SUB-0125, in September 2021;
- authorised the Minister for Seniors to make minor editorial, design and formatting changes to the Action Plan as required prior to its public release;
- 6 **noted** that further funding may need to be sought by the Office for Seniors or other agencies through the usual budget processes to support implementation of specific elements of the Action Plan;
- 7 **noted** that the Minister for Seniors intends to provide the next two-yearly report on progress on the implementation of the Strategy in 2023.

Rachel Clarke Committee Secretary

Present: (see over)

#### IN CONFIDENCE

#### SWC-21-MIN-0125

#### Present:

Hon Grant Robertson

Hon Kelvin Davis

Hon Chris Hipkins

Hon Carmel Sepuloni (Chair)

Hon Andrew Little

Hon Poto Williams

Hon Kris Faafoi

Hon Peeni Henare

Hon Willie Jackson

Hon Jan Tinetti

Hon Dr Ayesha Verrall

Hon Aupito William Sio

Hon Meka Whaitiri

Hon Priyanca Radhakrishnan

### Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Office of the SWC Chair Officials Committee for SWC