

Cabinet Government Administration and Expenditure Review Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Te Pae Tawhiti: Strategic Assessment for Investment in the Ministry of Social Development's Future

Portfolio Social Development and Employment

On 11 November 2021, the Cabinet Government Administration and Expenditure Review Committee (GOV):

- noted that in September 2021, the Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee agreed to a renewed welfare overhaul work programme and noted that the Minister for Social Development and Employment would report back on progress in the medium-term that will help inform a more detailed long-term work programme [SWC-21-MIN-0128];
- 2 **noted** that the Ministry of Social Development's (MSD) systems and processes are constraining its ability to deliver on the government's vision for welfare overhaul;
- noted that there are three serious problems constraining MSD's ability to achieve the government's vision, specifically:
 - 3.1 its fragmented, transaction-focused service approach will not meet the future needs and expectations of New Zealanders;
 - 3.2 the high and increasing likelihood of service and payment failure risks serious harm to clients, partners, and New Zealand;
 - 3.3 its current service model can make it difficult for clients to get help, which could result in harm and exacerbate hardship;
- 4 **agreed** that MSD prepare a programme business case based on the case for change outlined in the Strategic Assessment attached under GOV-21-SUB-0039;
- invited the Minister for Social Development and Employment to report back to GOV by 30 April 2022 with a programme business case which includes off ramps and decision-making points for Ministers, and a summary of engagement and testing done with key stakeholder groups.

Rebecca Davies Committee Secretary

Present:

Hon Dr Megan Woods (Chair) Hon Carmel Sepuloni Hon David Parker Hon Jan Tinetti Hon Michael Wood Hon Kiri Allan Hon Dr David Clark Deborah Russell, MP

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for GOV